Testing & Performance

Nationally Mandated Testing

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), grade 4.

State Mandated Testing

State Testing and Reporting (STAR) includes the California Achievement Test, Sixth Edition (CAT/6) and the California Standards Test (CST) for grades 2-5. These test reading, language, math and spelling skills and writing assessment. The results are used to report the school's Academic Performance Index (API). California English Language Development Test (CELDT) monitors the progress of English learners. Grades K-5. FITNESSGRAM : Physical Fitness Test for grade 5.

The Standardized Testing and Reporting(STAR) Program, part of California's statewide testing and accountability system, helps measure how well students are learning academic skills. The STAR Program consists of four parts:

California Standards Test (CST)
The California Standards Tests in English language arts, mathematics, science, and history/social science measure student performance against California's content standards. The content standards are grade and course specific and specify what each student should know and be able to do. Learn more.

California Modified Assessment (CMA)
CMA provides an alternate assessment of the California content standards based on modified achievement standards. To learn more, visit the California Departnent of Education's CMA website.

California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA)
The CAPA is a performance assessment for students with moderate or profound disabilities who receive a primarily functional or life skills curriculum, and are unable to participate in more traditional testing. To learn more, visit the California Department of Education's CAPA website.

Standards Based Tests in Spanish (STS)
The STS exams (the Spanish language version of the California Standards Tests) are administered to Spanish-speaking English learner students who have been enrolled in U.S. schools for less than 12 months, or are enrolled in a Biliteracy program.

California English Language Development Test (CELDT)

The purpose of the CELDT is to identify new students who are English learners, determine their level of English proficiency, and annually assess their progress toward becoming fluent English proficient. The CELDT covers four skill areas: listening, speaking, reading and writing in English. It is administered in grades K-12.

District Mandated Testing

Benchmark Exams:
Literacy benchmark exams are district-developed, standards-based assessments for students in Grades 1-8. Mathematics benchmark exams are district-developed, standards-based assessments for students in Grades 1-7, and students enrolled in algebra and geometry. These exams assess students' understanding of content taught in each unit of study. Assessment results help determine supports needed to assist students in developing literacy and mathematics skills.

Writing and Reading Assessment Profile (WRAP): Grades K-2
The WRAP is used as a reading screening assessment for students in kindergarten through 2nd grade. It may also be used during the school year to monitor student progress and collect evidence of student growth.

Special Education Testing

Parents may request that a district psychologist and resource specialist evaluate their children for learning disabilities. Requests are to be made to the principal. An Instructional Study Team (IST) will meet with the parent or guardian to determine the appropriateness of the request.


For testing performance, see our School Report Card page.

Contact Information

Erin Gordon, Director
Assessment Services Department
(619) 725-7065
[email protected]

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.